Whole Wheat Red Velvet Cookies: Filling and Fabulous

Wow! Thanks, everyone! I haven’t been blogging on this Food Done Right site for very long and here a week after I posted my muffin recipe it’s still getting liked. Although my next cookbook is going to be an Italian one, I think the one after that (which I’m also already working on, along with four others) will be a baking book. I decided to reward my readers I’ll share another easy whole grain baking recipe from my book, Food Done Right!.

Red Velvet Cookies

When I was studying for my professional writing degree, some of my friends I’d known from culinary school worked at one of the dining halls. I’d pick up a red velvet cookie at the end of my lunch, those cookies were divine. I took it upon myself to make them my way and they are so similar in flavor and texture, you would never believe these are 100% whole wheat, low in sugar, and low in fat. And there are two cookies per serving!

You can omit the food coloring, they will be slightly red from the other ingredients and red velvet cakes did not originally have food coloring added to them, so the cookies would fare just as well without.

red velvet cookies

Serves 15

Ingredients

3 Tbsp. unsalted butter, softened

¼ cup unsweetened applesauce

¾ cups packed brown sugar

3 stevia packets

1 large egg

1 tsp. cider vinegar

1 tsp. vanilla extract

¼ tsp. almond extract

½ tsp. red food coloring gel

1½ cups whole wheat pastry flour

2 Tbsp. cocoa powder

½ tsp. baking powder

½ tsp. baking soda

½ tsp. salt

½ cup white chocolate chips

Directions

Preheat oven to 350F. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper. In a standing mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, add the butter, applesauce, brown sugar, and stevia packets, beat over medium speed for five minutes until fluffy. Add the egg, vinegar, extracts and food coloring and beat until smooth.

Whisk the flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda, and salt together and gradually add to the mixer, mixing on low after each addition. Beat on medium speed until well blended. Fold in the white chocolate chips.

Add a tablespoon of dough for each cookie, spacing them on the prepared baking sheets 2-inches apart. Bake for 11-13 minutes, until the edges are just set. Remove pans from oven and let the cookies cool on the pan.

For more recipes like this, check out my updated version of Food Done Right! on Amazon.

new book cover

Nutrition Information

Two cookies per serving

Servings 15
Calories per Serving 142
Fat 5g
Carbohydrates 24g
Protein 2g
Sugars 16g
Fiber 1g
Leave a Reply

